For the complete experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser.
Legal Marijuana: Penalties for Violating Medical Marijuana Laws in Arizona
Arizona is one of the states in America that had legalized the medical use of marijuana, which was approved in 2010. Even though other states had approved the recreational adult-use of marijuana, the federal government of Arizona is still against the recreational use of marijuana. 

Arizona is a state that has a strict law on the medical use of marijuana and anyone found guilty of felonies or abusing the medical marijuana laws shall be accounted for charges. Below are the common penalties for abusing medical marijuana laws in Arizona:

1.    Possession of medical marijuana

Even though the medical marijuana is legal, it is still regulated under Schedule I Controlled Substance; thus, possessing of medical marijuana has limitations. According to the law, the qualified patient is allowed to possess 2.5 ounces of medical marijuana and can grow only up to 12 plants of it in a secured and enclosed facility. If anyone violates the law, below are the penalties:

•    Possession of two pounds medical marijuana (personal use), he or she is subjected to Class 6 felony, with 4 months up to 2 years of sentence and a minimum fine of $1000. However, if he or she is granted only with probation, he or she shall face a mandatory 24 hours of community service.

•    Possession of 2-4 pounds of medical marijuana (personal use), he or she is subjected to Class 5 felony with 6month up to two and a half year of imprisonment and a minimum fine of $1000. Again, if granted probation, he or she shall face 24 hours mandatory sentence doing community service.

•    Possession of more than 4 pounds of medical weed (personal use), he or she is subjected to Class 4 felony with one year up to three years and nine months of sentence and with a minimum of $1000 penalty. However, if he or she is granted only with probation, he or she shall face a mandatory 24 hours of community service.

2.    Selling of medical marijuana 

Arizona’s marijuana laws state that only licensed dispensers are allowed to dispense medical marijuana to qualified patients who are 18 years and older, anyone violating the law is subject to answer criminal liabilities:

•    Selling or possessing for sale of 2 pounds of medical marijuana is subjected to Class 4 felony which is punishable with one year up to three years and nine months of imprisonment and with a minimum penalty of $1000. However, if he or she is granted only with probation, he or she shall face a mandatory 240 hours of community service.

•    Selling or possessing for sale of 2-4 pounds of medical marijuana is subjected to Class 3 felony which is punishable with two years up to eight years and nine months of imprisonment and with a minimum penalty of $1000. 

•    Selling or possessing for sale of more than 4 pounds of medical marijuana is subjected to Class 2 felony which is punishable with two years up to twelve and a half years of imprisonment and with a minimum penalty of $1000. 

There are more penalties that everyone should learn about Arizona’s medical marijuana law; if you want more helpful information about possessing, growing, cultivating medical marijuana in Arizona, you should read reliable sources like this.